Skip Navigation
  1. home
  2. About Daegu
  3. International Exchange
  4. Sister Cities
  5. Chengdu, China

Sister Cities

Chengdu (成都), China – since November 10, 2015

The capital of China’s Sichuan Province, Chengdu is home to China’s national treasures—pandas. It was a prosperous capital city of Shu Han during the Three Kingdoms period and is famous for historical sites such as the Wuhou Memorial Temple dedicated to Zhuge Liang and Du Fu Thatched Cottage built to honor the prominent Chinese poet Du Fu, as well as the Sichuan cuisine, one of the four major styles of Chinese cuisine. The city’s major industries include IT, electronic information, software, biomedicine, and renewable energy. Chengdu is the base city for China’s Western Development Program, and the third city in China with two international airports, after Beijing and Shanghai.

  • Location : Central Sichuan Province, China
  • Population : 16.33 million
  • Area : 14,335㎢